« From idols to icons | Main | Christendom »

Sunday, 21 June 2009

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Graham

And herein lies one of our biggest problems (and I write, ironically, as a minister in an established christendom denomination)...this often means that in the west it is possible to be 'passively' christian or to go, as Newbigin suggests, with the public truths of science and the private truths of faith.

I would love to see more blogging on this theme- I'm looking forward to it!

Thanks for commenting on mine. I will now check into yours to be more open to ecumenism (and I only recently stepped down as a chair of an LEP!)

Chris Sissons

Thank you Graham. I will be using Christendom as an underlying theme for my exploration of ecclesiology. One issue is how far can we take critiques based upon Christendom? It seems every new church claims to be a return to the early church - they can't all be doing this - or in what sense are they doing this?

Your quote from Newbigin is interesting. I've just finished a long sequence of posts about science and expressed some impatience with this split between science and faith. It is based upon a misunderstanding of science. I think a lot of people see problems where there aren't any.

The comments to this entry are closed.

CCblog Network

Sites for Transformation

Ecumenical posts

Become a Fan

TypePad Profile

Get updates on my activity. Follow me on my Profile.

November 2011

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

This week we pray for

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter
    Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported
    Blog powered by Typepad