« Two Ecumenisms? | Main | How Churches Hold Themselves Together »

Saturday, 07 November 2009

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Chris

Chris,

Thanks for all this thoughtful reflection on my essay. I wish I had more time to comment, but as my employment transitions, and I apply for PhD programs, time is extremely scarce. I do have one essential comment on this post: The role of co-mission in the ecumenical project, which Newbigin identified as primary, has not yet been seriously pursued. The desire to reflect our unity can only be brought to a boiling point by the urgency of our co-mission and the impediment that our disunity presents. I suspect that the 'form of the unity we seek' will be determined by what it takes to effectively cooperate in the kingdom mission. This is far more than 'reconciled diversity' and yet other than 'institutional unity'. It is our mission that must be the palpable unity between all who follow Jesus. When I long for the opportunity to catalyze this type of local ecumenism through mission.

Chris Sissons

Yes, I think you are right. My final pargraphs about LEPs were I think edging towards a similar view. Where are the strucutures to assist us with mission? I plan to run a short series of posts in the near future, attempting to envision some new structures precisely for this purpose.

The comments to this entry are closed.

CCblog Network

Sites for Transformation

Ecumenical posts

Become a Fan

TypePad Profile

Get updates on my activity. Follow me on my Profile.

November 2011

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30        

This week we pray for

Twitter Updates

    follow me on Twitter
    Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported
    Blog powered by Typepad